无冲突矿产采购

道德采购和冲突矿产政策

锡、钽、钨和金等主要矿物质被广泛应用于电子工业中用于生产各种产品的元器件。 中非,尤其是 刚果(金)及其周边九个国家(安哥拉、布隆迪、中非共和国、刚果(布)、卢旺达、苏丹、坦桑尼亚、乌干达 和赞比亚)是这些矿物质被大量开采的地区。 尽管这些矿物质的开采和贸易对该地区的经济至关重要,但自 1998 年以来,该地区一直冲突不断,产生的武装冲突、侵犯人权和环境破坏均由锡、钽、钨和金等的交易引发,这些矿物质通常被称为:冲突矿产

由于矿物开采和冶炼与最终产品制造相距数个环节,所以追查矿物来源往往具有挑战性。 Finisar 的供应商从世界各地获得或使用这类矿物质,多数矿物质来自冲突区域外,一些来自该区域内。 Finisar 努力在我们业务的各个领域维持最高道德行为和诚信标准。 作为光器件制造商,我们产品原材料包含此类矿物质,我们承诺从对环境和社会负责的来源区域采购矿物。

Finisar 的政策是不从已知冲突地区采购,并期望我们的供应商遵守相同的标准。 此外,我们的宗旨是只从负责的、无冲突的地区采购,经过 Conflict Free Sourcing Initiative (CFSI) 的验证。 Finisar 期望我们的供应链合作伙伴制定政策、策略和必要的稽核措施,致力于确保我们的产品中使用的矿物没有直接或间接资助或使 DRC 或其相邻国家的武装分子受益,就算是向该区域被允许的供应商采购也不会被直接或间接应用于资助武装分子。

作为 CFSI 的成员,Finisar 已采用 CFSI 标准冲突矿物报告模板。 另外,我们要求我们的供应商在向 Finisar 报告矿物采购数据时使用该模板。 为应对定期调查,供应商在报告冲突矿物、冶炼厂和开采来源时,期望供应商提供准时、真实、准确和完整的数据。 我们在审核供应商发给我们的数据时,会反复检查命名来源是否位于已知冶炼厂/炼油厂和 CFSI 公布的无冲突冶炼厂名单中。 (www.conflictfreesmelter.org)

此外,如果我们发觉可疑的矿物采购问题,来自供应链内其他来源,可能包括冲突来源,则 Finisar 要求从这些来源采购的供应商进行准时、合理的跟进稽查,以确认使用的材料的可追溯性,调查他们的供应链内可疑的来源,并根据需要实施纠正措施,确保无冲突的供应链。

作为一家 美国上市公司,Finisar 遵守《多德-弗兰克华尔街改革与消费者保护法案》第 1502 章以及 SEC 发布的执行指南,它们要求供应商报告并开展有关冲突矿物的采购和无冲突状态的合理尽职调查。 Finisar 支持我们的客户在达到确保对社会和环境负责的供应链的共同目标上的努力。

Conflict-Free Sourcing

Ethical Sourcing and Conflict Minerals Policy

Key minerals of Tin, Tantalum, Tungsten, and Gold are widely used in the electronics industry to produce components used in a variety of products.  Central Africa, specifically the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) and nine adjoining countries – Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Congo Republic, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia – is one region where these minerals are mined extensively.  Although the mining and trading of these minerals is crucial to the region’s economy, this region has been in conflict since 1998; the resulting extreme levels of violence, human rights abuses, and environmental damage are supported by the trade of Tin, Tantalum, Tungsten, and Gold, often known as: conflict minerals.

Because mineral mining and smelting is several steps removed from final product manufacture, tracing mineral origins is often challenging.  Finisar’s suppliers acquire and use minerals from multiple sources around the world, many from outside the conflict region, some from inside the region.  Finisar Corporation strives to maintain the highest standards of ethical conduct and integrity in all areas of our business.  As a manufacturer of products that contain these minerals, we are committed to procuring materials from environmentally and socially responsible sources.

It is Finisar’s policy to not purchase from known conflict sources, and we expect our suppliers abide by the same standard.  Further, it is our aim to purchase from only responsible, conflict-free sources, as validated by the Conflict Free Sourcing Initiative (CFSI).  Finisar expects our supply chain partners to establish policies, practices, and due diligence measures that work toward ensuring minerals used in our products do not directly or indirectly finance or benefit armed groups in the DRC or adjoining countries while supporting responsible mineral sourcing in that region.

As a member of the CFSI, Finisar has adopted the CFSI standard conflict minerals reporting template.  Additionally, we require our suppliers to use this template when reporting mineral sourcing data to Finisar.  In response to periodic surveys, suppliers are expected to provide prompt, truthful, accurate, and complete data regarding conflict minerals and the smelter and mining sources reported by their suppliers.  In our review of the data we receive from our suppliers, named sources are cross-checked against the list of known smelters / refiners, and the Conflict Free Smelter list, published by the CFSI.  (www.conflictfreesmelter.org)

In addition, should we become aware of concerns about suspect mineral sourcing, from other sources within in the supply chain, which may include conflict sources, Finisar requires the supplier(s) who purchase from those sources to conduct a prompt, reasonable due diligence follow-up to: confirm the traceability of materials used, investigate suspect sources within their supply chain, and implement corrective measures as needed to ensure a conflict-free supply chain.

As a publicly traded US company, Finisar complies with the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act, Section 1502 and the implementation guidelines published by the SEC, which require supply chain reporting and reasonable due diligence with respect to the sourcing of conflict minerals, and conflict-free status.  Finisar supports our customers’ efforts to reach the common goal of ensuring a socially and environmentally responsible supply chain.