环境可持续性

Finisar 清楚我们之所以能成为一个成功的企业,原因主要在于我们能够证明我们采用的是适当且负责任的运营方式。我们认识到自己的运营活动对环境以及对员工、承包商和访客的健康和安全产生的影响。我们认真履行自己的责任,竭力保护可能受到我们运营活动影响的环境、员工和其他人。

Finisar 致力于遵从环境可持续发展的商业惯例,最大程度降低我们整个业务对环境的影响。我们的方法遵循 Finisar 经过 ISO-14001 认证的环境管理体系,每个地点指定的跨职能团队会对当地的环境因素和影响进行全面评估,并根据这些评估结果制定改善计划和目标。全球协调经由企业级的中心指导委员会来组织实施。

Finisar 有一个环境健康安全 (EHS) 管理代表,负责促进和保证所有 Finisar 运营活动合规。Finisar 的 EHS 计划旨在确保我们的运营活动符合国际、联邦、州和地方法律法规以及采用的最佳管理实践要求。Finisar 的主要运营场所会定期开展合规性审计,以确保运营活动始终合规。

Finisar 的工厂位于 Malaysia 的 Ipoh 和 China 的 Wuxi,设计中心位于 CA 的 Sunnyvale、CA 的 Fremont 和 TX 的 Allen,均经过 ISO 14001:2008 注册。 Finisar 的目标是让所有主要生产基地都取得 ISO 14001 认证,或在合适的地方实施同等规格的环境管理系统。

Finisar 对环境可持续性和环境影响最小化的愿景主要体现在以下几个关键领域:

为环境而设计

我们会评估自己产品的环境因素,并在可行的情况下,在整个供应链和产品生命周期中实现最少的废物排放、最大的物料循环利用和低能耗。

作为一家积极承担环保责任和社会责任的制造企业,Finisar 致力于减少有害物质对环境的影响,设计和生产的所有组件和成品均符合基于法律、监管和市场要求的材料规范。

严格的产品合规性

对 Finisar 产品的两个主要要求包括遵守欧盟关于限制使用有害物质 (RoHS) 2011/65/EU 的指令和关于化学品注册、评估、授权和限制的 REACH 指令 2006/1907。 一项全面的绿色环保项目 和一支全球跨领域团队已布置到位,以确保合规。

此外,Finisar 符合 China RoHS 指令第 1 部分的标签和物质披露要求。每批货物都包含产品内容披露文件,而且关联的包装上都会相应标注 China 和国际资源回收标志。

员工参与

Finisar 的成功离不开员工的聪明才智和不懈努力。这一方针在环境可持续性领域也是如此,我们致力于通过持续的员工教育和参与计划,提升员工对公司工作和社区生活中环境问题的关注度。 在工作中,员工积极加入 ISO 14001 团队、安全委员会、“绿色”团队,在有些场所,员工积极参与社区主办的循环利用活动或路边清洁活动。 我们的循环利用机会中有很多都来源于员工提出的想法。

关爱环境的流程

我们在开展业务的同时会坚实有效地遵行所有适用的环境要求。Finisar 悉心掌控企业运营和工厂流程中使用的物质,并积极采取各项措施,尽量少使用可能会危害环境和人体健康的物质,甚至替代或消除这类物质。

我们通过把握循环利用的机会,在企业运营的各个方面(从办公室空间到工厂地面)设立既定目标并达成目标,已大幅降低对环境的影响。

企业环境目标

为了进一步证明 Finisar 的企业承诺,Finisar 已经制定了以下企业 5 年期目标(基准年是 2012 年):

  • 将生产标准化的制造业务能耗降低 5%,
  • 将生产标准化的温室气体排放量减少 5%,
  • 将生产标准化的用水量减少 10%,
  • 将生产标准化的(有害和无害)废物总量减少 10%

温室气体排放量附图表

Finisar 跟踪和报告主要制造业务的范围 1 和范围 2 温室气体排放量。美国基地 GHG 排放量低于联邦报告阈值。然而,每个基地都会审核和评估减少 GHG 排放量的机会。Finisar 在 2009 年至 2010 年将 GHG 排放量从减少了近 4%,在 2012 年至 2014 年又额外减少了 15%(基于年度收入)。

能耗附图表

能耗占了 Finisar 的 GHG 排放量的近 75%。基地团队积极寻找节能措施以便直接降低能耗需求,并在 2014 年将能耗从 2012 年的水平上减少了 6%(基于年度收入)。

用水量和水质附图表

Finisar 的半导体业务是用水大户。已实施最佳工程实践,以最大限度减少位于 Texas 的 Allen 和位于 California 的 Fremont 的晶片工厂的用水量。此外,重新使用 RO(“逆向渗透”)水和直流冷却水、改造景观灌溉系统以及使用自然景观等基地特定项目已被用于减少总体用水量。 Finisar 制造基地在 2014 年将用水量从 2012 年的水平上降低了近 12%(基于年度收入)。

污水处理系统已布置到位并且得到监控,以确保水质达到或超出允许的排放限制。

废物最少化和循环利用附图表

污染防治活动聚焦于减少物料用量。Finisar 位于 Texas Allen 的设施将非生产耗材从 2007 年的水平上减少了 85%。耗材越少,意味着垃圾填埋场中的废物越少。 其他 Finisar 业务场所已实施类似的战略以减少耗材用量,并改善循环利用计划以减少垃圾填埋场的废物。

多个基地实施的废物最少化项目也显著减少了装运至厂区外的有害废物量。 例如,Finisar 位于 Malaysia Ipoh 的设施在其生产工序中已不再使用丙酮溶剂。 Finisar Allen 设施将开发人员的数量减少了 80%,而 China Wuxi 设施将生产标准化的废物量减少了 37%。

为了减少用电量和随之而来的 GHG 排放量,多个 Finisar 业务场所已用 LED 替换了荧光灯。 Finisar 位于 TX Allen 的业务场所将能用的荧光灯捐给了当地的一个慈善机构。 废弃灯具,特别是 Finisar 较大生产基地的废弃灯具,使得 2014 年产生的废物总量有所增大。 一旦这些节能项目完成,废物量应有所减少。

危险物质

Finisar 认识到运营活动中使用的诸多物料具有危害性,于是采用工程控制和安全工作实践来最大限度减少这些物料的潜在影响。Finisar 的工程团队积极寻求可减少危险物质使用量的机会。


外界认可

  • Finisar 位于 California Fremont 的设施自 2002 年起,因其废水处理工作连续多年被 Union Sanitary District 评为合规单位。
  • 在 2009 年,我们位于 Texas Allen 的设施荣膺“Ebby Halliday 和 Maurice Acers 业界领导奖”。这个奖项是以两位 Keep Texas Beautiful 创始成员命名的,旨在褒奖那些实施健全环境原则的企业。
  • 此外,在 2009 年,位于 Texas Allen 的设施成为 Greater DFW Recycling Alliance“杰出固体废物综合管理”的第一名获得者。
  • Finisar Allen 设施在 2012 年被 Allen 提名为“Green3 成就奖”候选者,并在由 North Texas Corporate Recycling Alliance 主办的竞赛中荣获第二名。
  • Finisar 位于 China Wuxi 的设施被 Wuxi 政府评为“优秀安全管理企业”。

合规性
Finisar 的运营活动力求 100% 符合监管法律和法规。企业从未因不符合任何环境法律或法律接到过任何由联邦、州或地方环境管理机构发出的违规通知或传讯。不过,在 2011 年,Finisar 位于 California Fremont 的设施因货运单据错误接到了交通部的传讯和罚款。该问题以令部门满意的方式迅速得到了解决,同时其他纠正措施得以实施以确保持续合规。

审计和审核
Finisar 运营活动定期接受外部监管机构和客户的审计。Finisar 也开展内部评估并寻求第三方审计师的服务。Finisar 的环境管理系统每年都要接受外部认证机构的审计。

Environmental Sustainability

Finisar understands that our success as a business hinges on our ability to demonstrate we are operating appropriately and responsibly. We recognize the impact our operations have on the environment and on the health and safety of our employees, contractors, and visitors. We take seriously our responsibility to protect the environment, our employees, and others who may be impacted by our operations.

Finisar is committed to environmentally sustainable business practices and minimizing our environmental impact throughout our entire business. Our approach is guided by Finisar's ISO-14001 certified Environmental Management System with cross-functional teams located at individual sites to comprehensively assess local environmental aspects and impacts and establish improvement programs and objectives based on those assessments. Global coordination is facilitated through a central, corporate-level steering committee.

Finisar has an Environment Health Safety (EHS) management representative who is responsible for facilitating and ensuring compliance across all Finisar operations. Finisar’s EHS programs are in place to ensure our operations are compliant with international, federal, state, and local laws and regulations and best management practices are used, where practicable. Periodic compliance audits are conducted at major Finisar operations to ensure continued compliance.

Finisar's factory sites in Ipoh Malaysia, and Wuxi, China, along with design centers in Sunnyvale CA, Fremont CA, and Allen TX, are ISO 14001:2008 registered.  It is Finisar’s intent to achieve ISO 14001 certification at all major manufacturing sites or implement an equivalent environmental management system where appropriate.

Finisar's objective towards environmental sustainability and minimizing our footprint focuses on several key areas:

Design for Environment

We assess the environmental aspects of our products and, to the extent practicable, minimize waste generation,  maximize material recyclability and design low energy consumption into the entire supply chain and product life cycle.

As an environmentally and socially responsible manufacturer focused on reducing the impact of hazardous substances on the environment, Finisar designs and manufactures its components and finished products to comply with  materials restrictions based on legal, regulatory, and market requirements.

Rigorous Product Compliance

Two key requirements for Finisar products include Compliance with the EU Directive regarding the Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS) 2011/65/EU, and the REACH Directive 2006/1907 on the Registration, Evaluation, and Authorization and Restriction of Chemicals.  A comprehensive Green Program and a global, interdisciplinary team are in place to ensure compliance.

Additionally, Finisar complies with the China RoHS Directive  Phase 1  Labeling and Substance Disclosure requirements. Each shipment includes the Product Content Disclosure and  associated packaging is properly marked with China and international recycling marks.

Employee Involvement

Finisar's success has always depended on the talents and commitment of our employees. This principle holds true in the area of environmental sustainability, We strive to increase employee awareness of environmental issues at work and in the community through a continuing program of employee education and engagement.  At work, employees actively participate on ISO 14001 teams, safety committees, “green” teams, and, at some locations, employees actively participate in the community sponsored recycling events or roadside cleanups.  Many of our recycling opportunities are driven from ideas submitted by our employees.

Environmentally Conscious Processes

We conduct our business while reliably and efficiently complying with all applicable environmental requirements. Finisar maintains careful control over the substances used in our business and factory processes, while taking steps whenever practicable to minimize, substitute, and eliminate the use of substances that are potentially hazardous to the environment and human health.

We have made great strides in reducing our environmental footprint by identifying recycling opportunities, setting objectives and meeting goals in all aspects of our business, from office spaces to factory floors.

CORPORATE ENVIRONMENTAL GOALS

To further demonstrate Finisar’s corporate commitment, Finisar has established the following corporate goals with 5-year targets (baseline year 2012):

  • Reduce Energy Consumption at manufacturing operations normalized to production by 5 percent,
  • Reduce Greenhouse Gas Emissions normalized to production by 5 percent,
  • Reduce Water Use normalized to production by 10 percent,
  • Reduce Total waste (hazardous and non-hazardous) normalized to production by 10 percent

Greenhouse Gas Emissions (accompanying chart)

Finisar tracks and reports Scope 1 and Scope 2 greenhouse gas emissions from major manufacturing operations. US site GHG emissions are below federal reporting thresholds. Nonetheless, opportunities for reducing GHG emissions are reviewed and evaluated at each site. Finisar reduced GHG emissions approximately 4% from 2009 to 2010 and an additional 15% from 2012 to 2014 based on annual revenue.

Energy Consumption (accompanying chart)

Energy consumption accounts for approximately 75% of Finisar’s GHG emissions. Site teams are actively engaged in identifying energy conservation measures to directly reduce energy consumption requirements and achieved a 6% reduction through 2014 from 2012 levels based on annual revenue.

Water Consumption and Quality(accompanying chart)

Finisar’s semiconductor operations are major users of water resources. Best engineering practices are employed to minimize water usage in Wafer FABs located in Allen, Texas and Fremont, California. Additionally, site-specific projects such as reusing RO (“reverse osmosis”) water and once-through cooling water, modifying landscape irrigation systems, and using native landscaping have been employed to reduce overall usage.  Finisar manufacturing sites reduced water consumption by approximately 12% through 2014 from 2012 based on annual revenue.

Wastewater treatment systems are installed and monitored to ensure water quality meets or exceeds permitted discharge limitations.

Waste Minimization and Recycling (accompanying chart)

Pollution prevention activities focus on reducing material usage. Finisar’s Allen, Texas facility reduced purchases of non-production consumable materials by 85% from 2007 levels. Less consumable materials translates to less waste in landfills.  Other Finisar locations have implemented similar strategies to reduce the use of consumable products and enhancing recycling programs to reduce waste disposal in landfills.

Waste minimization projects at various sites have also significantly reduced the amount of hazardous waste shipped offsite.  For example, Finisar’s Ipoh Malaysia facility eliminated the use of Acetone solvent in its production processes.  Finisar Allen reduced usage of developer by 80%, and Wuxi China realized a reduction of 37% in waste normalized to production. 

In an effort to reduce electricity consumption and subsequent GHG emissions, several Finisar locations are replacing fluorescent lamps with LEDs.  Finisar’s Allen, TX location donated usable fluorescent lamps to a local charity.  Lamp disposal, especially at Finisar’s larger production sites, contributed to overall increases in waste generated in 2014.  Waste volumes should decrease once these conversion projects are completed. 

Hazardous Materials 

Finisar recognizes the hazardous nature of many of the materials we use in our operations and uses engineering controls and safe work practices to minimize the potential impacts of these materials. Finisar’s engineering teams actively pursue opportunities to use less hazardous materials.


EXTERNAL RECOGNITION

  • Finisar’s Fremont, California facility has been recognized each year since 2002 by the Union Sanitary District for consecutive years of compliance for its Wastewater Treatment operations.
  • In 2009, our facility in Allen, Texas received “The Ebby Halliday and Maurice Acers Business/Industry Leadership Award.” This award named for two founding members of Keep Texas Beautiful recognizes those businesses with sound environmental principles.
  • Also in 2009, the Allen, Texas facility was the 1st place Recipient of the Greater DFW Recycling Alliance “Outstanding Integrated Solid Waste Management.”
  • Finisar Allen was nominated in 2012 by the City of Allen for a Green3 Achievement award and placed 2nd in the competition that was sponsored by the North Texas Corporate Recycling Alliance.
  • Finisar’s Wuxi, China facility was deemed “Excellent Corporation in Safety Management” by Wuxi government.

COMPLIANCE
Finisar operations strive for 100% compliance with governing laws and regulation. The Corporation received no Notices of Violation or citations from any federal, state or local environmental regulatory agency for non-compliance with any environmental law or regulation. However in 2011, Finisar’s Fremont, California facility received a citation and fine from the Department of Transportation for a shipping document error. The issue was quickly addressed to the Department’s satisfaction and additional corrective actions were implemented to ensure continued compliance.

AUDITS AND REVIEWS
Finisar operations are routinely subjected to audits by external regulatory agencies and customers. Finisar also conducts its own self assessments and enlists the services of third-party auditors. Finisar’s Environmental Management System is audited annually by an outside certification organization.