红外光应用于对我们生活环境的测量、感应和控制

像在平板电脑这种带触屏的便携设备上使用的一样,感应触碰或手指运动作为用户界面的一部分,大多数消费者对姿态识别都非常熟悉。然而,3D 感应的可能应用范围比这个要广泛得多。

通过光学元件发出的不可见红外光(这些元件将光线分布成一个结构模型或一片光线),系统能够捕获整个房间的纵向信息。这使得个人能够以身体姿势控制游戏或他们的整个娱乐中心。未来的移动设备,3D 感应将增强摄像机功能,使得能够通过设备摄像机拍撮的图像增强现实来识别物体和捕获纵向数据。

Finisar 的 Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) 技术在小型化封装内集合了低成本和高光学效率的优势。VCSEL还 拥有在温度变化范围内的波长稳定性,并且方向性好,聚焦后产生最大的输出效率。得益于其聚焦的相干光线, VCSEL 拥有的效率比相同封装的 LED 多10 倍。为了满足手势识别和 3D 感应客户的需求,Finisar 技术可与其它相同封装的所有光学元件、电子设备和逻辑控制单元集成。作为选择,Finisar 的元器件可以通过特殊定制以满足特定应用的精度、功率、尺寸、封装和成本限制,。

Infrared Light for Measuring, Sensing and Controlling our Environment

Most consumers are familiar with gesture recognition as part of a user interface that senses touch or finger motion, such as is used in portable devices with touchscreens like tablets. The full range of applications possible with 3D sensing, however, is much wider.

By passing unseen, infrared light through an optical element (which spreads the light into a structured pattern or a sheet of light), systems are able to capture depth information across an entire room. This enables a person to control games or their entire entertainment center with physical gestures. In future mobile devices, 3D sensing will augment camera capabilities to enable object recognition, capture depth data in an image or augment reality as seen through the device’s camera.

Finisar’s Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL) technology brings together the advantages of low cost and optical efficiency within a small footprint. VCSELs have the advantage of wavelength stability over temperature and are directionally focused to maximize output efficiency. With its focused, coherent light, a VCSEL is 10 times more efficient than an LED in similar packaging. To meet the needs of our gesture and 3D sensing customers, Finisar technology can be integrated with other optical elements, electronic drivers, and control logic, all within the same package. Alternatively, Finisar's components can be customized to meet the specific precision, power, size, packaging, and cost constraints for specific applications.